We love covered bridges. Not sure what the attraction is but we and our motorcycle keep seeking them out, finding them and enjoying them. We were workamping in KOA Mystic the summer of 2018 and while in CT we found the Comstock Covered Bridge.
The Comstock Covered Bridge is one of three covered bridges in CT. We picked Comstock because it was the closest to the campground we were staying in. It is located at 14 Bridge Street at the junction of Colchester and East Hampton. The bridge crosses the Salmon River.
It Was Built In 1875 And Was Uncovered
It was used for local traffic and pedestrians crossing the river. In 1873 the bridge was upgraded and made more attractive by adding wooden Pony truss Formation. The bridge was re-born as the Comstock Covered Bridge. In the 1930s the bridge was rehabilitated to support the weight of the covering.
On the day we visited the bridge we arrived in the late afternoon. We noted there was a sign indicating the Salmon River Trail which is part of the blue-blazed hiking trail system. We love our hikes but upon a review of the sign and the distance of the trail, we decided to return another day and do the hike. Unfortunately, we did not get back to the area while in CT.
We really enjoyed this covered bridge and the river beneath it. There are gardens near the bridge maintained by The Belltown Garden Club of East Hampton. The bridge and the surrounding area are well maintained. If we were to return to the area we would definitely hike the Salmon River Trail.
14 Bridge Street
Date of Visit – September 6, 2018